Welcome to the Yale Club of San Francisco - The Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg, host and lecturer

   New user, registration is FREE Sign In  

The Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg, host and lecturer

The Alexander String Quartet, co-founded by Sandy Wilson YSM '81, is among the world’s premiere ensembles, widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, and for its advocacy of new music.

Join the Alexander String Quartet and San Francisco performances for a YCSF discount on the first of four special musical events in Berkeley!
Sandy Wilson YSM '81, The Alexander String Quartet co-founder, will do a meet-and-greet with YCSF members after the show.
For two decades, these five musicians have brought together a devoted crowd of chamber music enthusiasts on Saturdaymornings that are part concert, part lecture, part humor and all entertainment. Followers on both sides of the Bay indulge in deep exploration of composers, their works, times and impacts in one of SF Performances' most popular and enduring series. These enlightening two-hour sessions, designed and written by Robert Greenberg, open with Mr. Greenberg’s musical and historical insights about the composers and their work, liberally peppered with his incisive wit and expansive insights, and conclude with complete performances of the repertoire by the ASQ.

World War II (1939-1945) was the single most harrowing and devastating event of the twentieth century. Framed by the string quartets of Benjamin Britten, whose centennial is being celebrated this year, this series will explore works that reflect the broader European experience of the War years, as well as the period immediately before (Program 1) and after (Program 4). Aside from Britten’s superb quartets, the series will feature some of the most important string quartets composed during the twentieth century, including a quartet by Pavel Haas, who perished in Auschwitz-Birkenau in 1944.

Program 1: "The Gathering Storm" 
BRITTEN: Three Divertimenti for String Quartet 
HAAS: Quartet No. 3

December 7, 2014 at 10:00 am
St. John’s Presbyterian Church, Berkeley
2727 College Avenue, Berkeley CA

Use the YCSF discount code for 20% off: YCSF20 (only applicable for 12/7)
Please contact Tiffany Ng (antiphony@gmail.com) if you have any questions. 

The Yale Club of San Francisco
Yale Photographs courtesy of Michael Marsland/Yale University
© Copyright Yale Club of San Francisco, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Alumni Development Software